What happens to engineers after graduation

Just found this stip on Quora and couldn't stop myself from sharing it. It gives a correct representation of your life as an engineer, after you graduate and join the work-force.

engineers-cubicle

What do CEans think?

Replies

• zaveri
    zaveri
    Its a misconception which people have about engineers.

People think its a curse to be spending long hours working before a computer

and they also think its a curse to be laboring away in a workshop or a manufacturing unit.

but then what exactly according to them is not a curse ?

the comic strip is over-exaggerated. you cannot compare, being caught in a trap, to working as an engineer. you are only earning your living, and if you are comfortable with your job, then the question never arises.
  • Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    I am an Engineer in the making I spend about 8 hours apart from my college time with my laptop Does that mean I am trapped no

But to some laptops become their life and that may seem a trap not sure about it till I reach that level I can't comment either
  • Pensu
    Pensu
    Well, people should understand that service industry and development industry are two different things. May be I am opening up a whole new debate here but I have never seen a guy who is working in BPO or service companies satisfied with his job. They all feel like trapped. While most of the developers are happy with what they do.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-#: Have you ever worked in a cubicle?
  • zaveri
    zaveri
    Kaustubh Katdare

ofcourse i have ! and had a hell of a time !

i did a month long internship at WABCO, and i and my group were put in the R&D department.

we had a cubicle to ourselves, and we were given a project to re-engineer a pedal unit. we had to work using the pro-e software.
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ