What exactly needs to be done in a paper presentation?

i am a second year b-tech student of mechanical.there is this paper presentation where i want to take part.but i have no clue what is to be done.
does it have to be my own innovation,like a project, or should it be an analysis of something that is already done?the topics cover a huge area.therefore, if it should be an analysis of something that already exists, then do i have to chose a particular thing out of the topic and analyse that?

Please do reply. its "urgent"!๐Ÿ˜’

Replies

• shahdharmit
    shahdharmit
    See for the latest research going on in the field of your interest. Select some topic. Search for the topic using Google. You'll get good documentation on #-Link-Snipped-#.

Now the hard copy of your paper presentation should strictly be of IEEE format. Ask your faculty to explain you about the format. I urge you not to simply copy-paste the material from the Internet into your paper. Do enough study. And do some modifications in it. Also if you've got some point in your mind regarding the topic then mention it.

Next comes the presentation aka ppt part. You might be given about 4-5 minutes for presenting and then a minute or two would be for the questions from judges and audience. Depending upon the time given to you for presenting your ppt, make appropriate number of slides. Select a nice template for the slides. Don't go for very bright and funny/decorative slides. Simple slides with minimal designing are best.

Hope it's clear now.
  • simanti
    simanti
    thanx.it makes things clearer.๐Ÿ˜‰
  • Mag
    Mag
    Being an I.T student I'd just like to help you out saying that, it will completely depend on your topic that whether it requires an analysis or whether it should be some previous one.
    I'd suggest you present an entirely new topic that wouldn't be much complex but smart enough to be explained to the audience.