what are deadlocks?

hi all,

i am studying Operating system these days and finding it very interesting but a little bit complicated as well.

i was studying about deadlocks and til now have not been able to understand the difference between deadlock PREVENTION and AVOIDANCE.i am referring to galvin gain. can anyone please explain me the difference??

is there some specific website except WIKIPEDIA which i can refer to for getting into the details of such things?

thanks.

Replies

• Neha
    Neha
    Deadlock Prevention is basically preventing deadlocks by constraining how requests for resources can be made, ensuring that one of the four necessary conditions for deadlock never hold.
    On the other hand, deadlock avoidance avoids actions that may lead to deadlock. We have different algorithms for the same.
  • desijays
    desijays
    a deadlock happens when a thread decides its time for the other thread to have its share of the CPU's resources and the other thread decides likewise.

Am i wrong? yikes !!!!!
  • DEP
    DEP
    Neha
    Deadlock Prevention is basically preventing deadlocks by constraining how requests for resources can be made, ensuring that one of the four necessary conditions for deadlock never hold.
    On the other hand, deadlock avoidance avoids actions that may lead to deadlock. We have different algorithms for the same.

hi neha,

thanks for replying.
    but this much i hve already studied. can you please explain this by citing an eg. from the real world.
  • miteshmanani
    miteshmanani
    DEP
    hi neha,

thanks for replying.
    but this much i hve already studied. can you please explain this by citing an eg. from the real world.
    hi all ,