What are businesses looking for?

I'm working on my resume right now and it is the first time that I've been able to approach it with much more marketing background. Before, it was just an objective piece of paper that stated my facts. I know today, that I should be selling myself and selling my good points.

I can start acting on some of the marketing things I've learned. Such as eliminating passive verbs because they come off... well passive and weak.

I know the best thing you can illustrate is that you have the experience and knowledge to do the job they want, without a doubt. That's tough since I have no experience. I'm trying to figure out the qualities they're looking for, so that I can demonstrate them in a different way.

Plus, I should add. Not sure if this happens everywhere, but in Canada businesses never advertise or seek out unexperienced/new grad engineers. It's a matter of sending a resume and cover letter in to them. At least when you can view a job posting you can get a general idea of what they want.

I guess to reiterate my question, what qualities are businesses looking for when seeking an employee? Especially someone lacking the necessary experience.

Replies

• Vega
    Vega
    full of enthusiasm, positive attitude towards work, proactiveness, innovative, flexible, tolerant and patient, excellent communication, good grasping power, good computer knowledge, stable, etc.
  • rationalguy
    rationalguy
    Thanks for the detail of characteristics. I'm going to have to figure out how to create these on the resume.
  • Prasad Ajinkya
    Prasad Ajinkya
    Rationalguy,
    Now be rational 😀.

Here's a process we used to do in our b-school.
    1. Make a resume where you write down everything about yourself. All showcase-able facts. Everything!! This is your "Master Resume"
    2. Now look at the organization you want to join, and do some research into who they are, what are they into, what values do they value, so on and so forth