From the Archives
Archived discussions on CrazyEngineers

@Sanyam Khurana • 10 May, 2013

Can someone explain what are the advantages of Norton's theorem over Thevenin's theorem? 

I studied both Thevenin and Norton's theorem to reduce a complex network, and I know that Norton is an extension of Thevenin's Theorem, but could someone tell me what are the advantages of Norton's theorem?

What was lacking in Thevenin that Norton's theorem was introduced?

@Abhishek Rawal • 10 May, 2013 • 1 like
Sanyam Khurana
Hey,

I studied both Thevenin and Norton's theorem to reduce a complex network, and I know that Norton is an extension of Thevenin's Theorem, but could someone tell me what are the advantages of Norton's theorem?

What was lacking in Thevenin that Norton's theorem was introduced?
Both the methods are used to solve the complex network.
Norton's Theorem & Thevenin's Theorem are "Duals". Hence you might've noticed that Norton's theorem uses Current Source & Resistors in parallel while Thevenin's theorem uses Voltage source & Resistors in series.This is nothing but "Duality".
@Sanyam Khurana • 10 May, 2013 Yes, but what's the advantages of using Norton over Thevenin..?
@Abhishek Rawal • 10 May, 2013 • 1 like
Sanyam Khurana
Yes, but what's the advantages of using Norton over Thevenin..?
It doesn't have any specific advantage over eachother.Both are equally useful : Sometimes it is easier/better to use Norton's equivalent circuit while sometimes Thevenin's equivalent circuit.
It all depends on the circuit network.
@Sanyam Khurana • 10 May, 2013 This question was actually asked in my viva, and I'm sure would be asked in external one too....

and the answer I gave was yours but examiner rejected, he said

"Are bhai, thevenin mein kuch to aisa hoga ki Norton introduce karna pada tha, tell me that"

Now help me, please
@Sanyam Khurana • 12 May, 2013 Just Bumping this thread , to get a precise answer of the above mentioned question.