VTOL vehicle with Fan as propeller

Hello everyone, before you guys give any response let me frankly inform you all that i am a layman in mechanics so its a earnest request to all that please elaborate in layman's term ๐Ÿ˜€

I have planned for a VTOL vehicle which will use high speed fans that will me mounted under the car will act as propeller. The thrust created by the fans should lift the vehicle up to a certain height(say 5 feet).

After taking off vertically it should land again.

Now what will be the detailed concepts and mechanisms of these operations?

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Bump! Mechanical / Automobile engineers - we need your attention here ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Rohanz21
    Rohanz21
    @The-Big_K

Thanks a lot for initiating the discussion ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    Please go through this thread. A Volkswagen concept car using what you suggest is doing a demo on the street.
    The principle is the same as used for Hovercrafts. Such a vehicle is called a ground reaction vehicle.
    #-Link-Snipped-#
  • Rohanz21
    Rohanz21
    Hello sir ๐Ÿ˜€

I went through the video a week back. it was really amazing.Read the thread too just now.

You wrote "Not particularly useful for normal road transport in my opinion." Any reason for that?
  • Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    Rohanz21
    Hello sir ๐Ÿ˜€
    You wrote "Not particularly useful for normal road transport in my opinion." Any reason for that?
    Though friction losses will be small, air resistance still remains. Also the energy required to keep the vehicle afloat can be high. My concern is more with the environment.
    Most of the roads in the tropics are dusty. This sort of vehicle will kick up a dust storm, which may lead to zero visibility on the road and a major health hazard if a large number of these are on the road. This sort of vehicles are best for over water/marsh land travel, where other vehicles will not work and there is no dust.
  • Rohanz21