Vibrations vs Resonant Frequency

First of all, let me say that I’m not an Engineer. Rather, I’ve worked in the maintenance field for over 20 years, although most of that was related to aviation. The company I work with now manufactures electrical wiring and I’ve recently encountered a problem I’ve not seen before. Picture a 15 ft high 10x10 ft square tube that feeds finished wire vertically from the top through a rotating flyer that layers it into a holding basket below. This is a very basic description of one of our finished product coilers that has developed a noticeable vibration when we attempt to operate it at production speed. Many co-workers are saying it’s out of balance because of an oil-misting system we recently installed on the top of the machine. This is indeed, when the vibrations became noticeable but I’m not convinced it’s a balance problem. If it were truly out of balance, wouldn’t the vibration be present from start up through production speed? Please refer to my first statement again.
I’ve done some early research and I believe we may have some resonant frequency issues. On start up, the machine runs rock solid and smooth as silk. It’s only when we approach 95% speed that the tremors start. I’ve tried to have the Production Operators push past the initial vibes to see if we can “plane out” the machine but from the Manager on down, they are terrified of producing scrap wire.
Now, the company I work for is quite larges and has six maintenance departments in the local area and unfortunately the vibration analysis technicians work in a different department. Our Manager and theirs seem to be unable to get along and help looks to be too far down the road for my liking. All of that to get to these two questions; am I on the right track, and if so, what can I do about it?

Replies

• BigOhm
    BigOhm
    The phrase "balance problem" is sort of a wastebasket term where a lot of things get tossed in, so take it with the proverbial grain of salt.