URL Rewriting In JSP & Advantages

Hello Experts,

I have heard a lot about URL rewriting. Can u plz tell me
1) How to implement URL rewriting in JSP
2)WHat are the advantages of URL rewriting?

Regards
GC

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# Good question indeed. I have no knowledge about the implementation part. However, I too have read quite a bit about it.

URL rewriting can be termed as a way of supporting 'anonymous session tracking'.
    Meaning to say, the local URLs can be loaded with additional information by modifying/rewriting them. This extra information is usually limited to a unique session ID. I think it must be a tiresome task to rewrite the URLs.

The real benefit, as they say, is "search engine optimization" or SEO for budding OR NEW websites. Substantially old websites do not want to indulge in this, because that might not reflect very well in their search engine rankings, because the spiders will have to be made known about your new page locations.

Hence, URL rewriting will work only for the websites whose pages are not already listed on Google, Yahoo and the likes.
  • PraveenKumar Purushothaman
    PraveenKumar Purushothaman
    IDs and Anonymous Session Tracking? New to that here... ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyways, the main use is like what you said is SEO. Another thing is, it is better to remember URLs like facebook.com/crazyengineers other than having facebook.com/?page_id=10000000456788 right? That's another main use... ๐Ÿ˜€
  • Sahithi Pallavi
    Sahithi Pallavi
    Good question and good answers.

So what facebook,twitter profile page URLs' uses is URL rewriting, right?

Now I want to know about implementation part. Anyone here can hint about it?
    Sada
    Good question and good answers.

So what facebook,twitter profile page URLs' uses is URL rewriting, right?

Now I want to know about implementation part. Anyone here can hint about it?