Thoughts on CE messenger

Hi guys,

One of the first things that attracted my notice in CE is the CE messenger project. I followed all the (long) threads that sprouted around this idea at various times. And I think this is something that is totally do-able, provided we stay committed this time around ๐Ÿ˜€.

I did my mini project based on the idea of an instant messenger. (Which is shared #-Link-Snipped-# at CE) This got me interested in giving a try at the CE IM.

Anyhow, I would like to be enlightened on some basic details about the messenger concept. I hope someone who has previously worked on this project could provide me some answers:
* Are we planning a messenger where we login with the CE usernames and access the chat functionality?
* Or is the idea to use any alternative ID like the CE mail ID, or the network ID
* I'm still new to CE, but I seem to notice that the Network ID is used as a means of instant communication between members. Since this is based on the Google App Engine, I think it will be pretty straightforward to implement a CE messenger based on the network id.
* If above is not the case, I suppose we'll have to implement a chat server (as mentioned in similar threads), in which case I need to do a lot more extra learning ๐Ÿ˜€

Well, and that's it. I wish to continue with this idea and actually conclude it successfully ๐Ÿ˜€ It might take some time, but let's not give up the CE messenger forever!

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    I would love to work on this. But I have no knowledge of chat servers.
    But still, I would love to be a part of the team and learn

Anyone joining?

PS: I am sure Goyal would.
  • Manish Goyal
    Manish Goyal
    I am all game for this

But since i have other commitments ,i am afraid whether i will be able to work on this or not

I think, first of all we need a team leader who can guide us
  • eternalthinker
    eternalthinker
    @AKD ~