Switching from testing to development

Hi there,
I am a student pursuing MCS(Comp Science). I am currently doing my internship from a company. Initially i was hired as an intern in DEVOPS but due to some reason i have been working in Testing. i have worked on manual,automation as well as performance testing till date.
Now it is possible that they will hire me permanently as part of QA team, and it seems like i wont be shifting to DEVOPS after all. I am not sure what exactly DEVOPS is but i always wanted to work in coding. I also have another offer as a developer in another company. But this is a very good company and i don't want to leave. What should i do?? Will it be possible for me to shift into coding later or is DEVOPS a better option???

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# - The most suitable thing to do is to check with your project managers or HR whether there is any possibility of switching to development profile in your current company.

I'd prefer the role over the company any day; because the company name won't hold much value over your regular day-to-day work. If you are not enjoying the work; the company you are working for does NOT matter.
  • ria91
    ria91
    Thank you Kaustubh,
    I will keep in mind everything you said, but as per current trend i have heard that DEVOPS is an emerging field and also involves development. This option is not currently present in many companies so should i give preference to coding(development) or continue here if i get an opportunity to shift to DEVOPS?
  • ram_149955
    ram_149955
    Hi,
    Don't do the mistake what I did few years ago. #-Link-Snipped-#advice is 200% correct.
    If you are interested in coding, accept the other developer offer. It may look foolish to leave the big company but the role matters.