Suggestion needed in selection of biofuel

Hi CEans,
I am going to do a project in Alternative fuels and especially in Biodiesel to use in Diesel engines.My guide had asked me to research on non edible oils that can be used as Biodiesel.
As i search, I got mainly four oils that has very good to be used as biodiesel.They are
1)Madhuca indica,
2)Jatropha Curcas,
3)Pongamia pinnata,
4)Mellia azadiracta.
I choose neem(i.e. Mellia azadiracta.). I want CEans view on this. Is it good to do it with neem oil?
My friend is doing with cooking oil and I am doing with Neem oil.
Please suggest details on feasibility, chemicals availability and benefits on this.
@#-Link-Snipped-#

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    I did investigate biodiesel a few years back. President Abdul Kalaam was also keen on Jatropha. I have been planting Jatropha since 1980. It is a plant that grows in semi arid zones without much fertilizers or care. It is a beautiful plant. The nut is called the psychic nut as eating the nut can cause hallucinations. Some wandering gypsies ate a bunch of the seeds from the hedge where we had planted it in Bangalore and were lying under the bushes in a stupor.

However, in my opinion this may be the source of choice.

There is one report against Jatropha saying that Kenya reports higher emissions from Jatropha fuel.

#-Link-Snipped-#

www.jatrophaworld.org

l#-Link-Snipped-#

A contrary report:

Jatropha Biofuel Project: Emissions Up to Six Times Greater Than Fossil Fuels | Climate & Capitalism
  • Karthikeyan jaisankar
    Karthikeyan jaisankar
    nice to hear sarath...whether its working???
  • Sarathkumar Chandrasekaran
    Sarathkumar Chandrasekaran
    Hi friends, I am happy to inform that I had finallt found my source.Its none other than Neem oil.
    Our project deals with the Extraction of Neem biodiesel using transesterification and testing its performance in a single cylinder diesel engine.
  • Karthikeyan jaisankar
    Karthikeyan jaisankar