Simple Resignation Letter Format

During my tenure as a software engineer, I found many employees struggle to write that perfect resignation letter. Writing a simple, to-the-point resignation letter is an art. I think one must keep following things in mind while drafting it -
  • Have an appropriate title to your letter.
  • Make it very brief and to the point.
  • You don't want to burn the bridges.
  • Keep it professional and grammatically correct.
All the above points are equally important. If your seniors have no idea about your plan to resign, you're going to shock them (assuming you're a valuable resource to the project ๐Ÿ˜€ ). Here's one such resignation letter you can use as a template -

To: [Mark it to your immediate senior to whom you report]

CC: [Mark a copy to the HR]

Subject: Resignation from the post of [your designation]

Content:

Dear [FirstName] OR Dear Mr./Ms. [Lastname]

Please accept this email as my resignation from the post of [your designation] effective from [date]. This was not an easy decision to make. Past [duration] have been very rewarding. I enjoyed working for you and being a part of a [or managing a] very successful team. I do hope our paths cross again in the future.

Regards,

[Your Full Name & Employee Code]

You may add few more lines if you wish; however I'd advise you to save them for the further discussion with your manager and personnel from the Human Resources department.

I hope you will find this format useful. If you have questions, post them in the comments. I'll be happy to answer them for you.

Replies

• Ankita Katdare
    Ankita Katdare
    This is the best format or what?! ๐Ÿ˜€
    I remember reading this three years back. A lot has changed ever since.

But people are still resigning from un-cool jobs to better alternatives. ๐Ÿ˜€

This one is as simple as possible. ๐Ÿ‘
  • Saandeep Sreerambatla
    Saandeep Sreerambatla