Query Related to SCJP 1.6 ( SCJP 6.0) Certification Exam

Hello everyone. I am new to this forum.

As a CS 2011 graduate, I am looking for a job right now. But as you know job market is kinda dead right now, so I was thinking about raising my skill level. So I wanted to know if SCJP 1.6 Exam for Java Certification a good way to go? Is it a good certification in field of IT? I mean I know Java have strong hold in IT today, but would a certification on my resume really make much difference??

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Well, certification would look good in your resume only if you have the knowledge of the subject. I remember interviewing a person with certification in network who had no knowledge of how networking works in real world. I'd strongly recommend opting for certification in the language/tool you're most comfortable and interested in. Opting for Java because it's 'hot' isn't the right thing to do. First evaluate your field of interest and then go for certifications in that domain. If Java is your choice - SCJP would look really good on your resume. But be alerted that once you tell the recruiters that you've a certification; the expectations suddenly rise. Don't let this scare you and abandon the certification altogether.

Also, be aware that certification alone won't guarantee a job. In Indian IT, you've to crack aptitude test and technical, HR rounds as well. Finally, to answer your question whether it would make a difference: Yes, it will.
  • Mahavir89
    Mahavir89
    Thanks for such quick response.
    Well, Java has been my forte since college. I mean, Its the language I am 'Most Good At'. And I am aware of the fact that a certification would only get me so far in IT field. It may give me an edge, but would not guarantee a job.