Project Title Implementation of OSPF

Hey friends,
In this semester my project title is "Implementation of Minimal OSPF"
That means implementing the link state routing protocol with some features of OSPF.
We have to include those features only which are required for a small organisation like a college.
There is a lot of complexity in OSPF so we have to implement a smaller version of it.

Please suggest which featture set i must include and i can remove from OSPF.
Also provide some tutorial link if you have related to OSPF.
I am currently studying from "Routers in the Internet" by christiana huitema.
Its a nice book though.
Still i would love suggestions from CEans..

Thanks guys...😀

Replies

• durga ch
    durga ch
    are you going to deploy the same? or it is only for simulation purpose?
    apart from the core functionality of OSPF including neighbor discovery, database syc and route calculations ( your metrics come here) , though there are quite few key characteristics, I feel Dijkstra SPF, cost based routing, multi-path are primary.
  • Sachin Jain
    Sachin Jain
    hey Durga Thanks for suggestion...
    No Its just for simulation purpose right now.
    I have thought of using just 1 metric (shortest path) that means my LSP (Link State Protocol) does not support multiple metrics
    because it will used for small organizations just like a college or some department.
    And i thought that i should not include feature of OSPF areas (hierarchial routing) as the network inside college may contains just 5-10 routers
    So database size is not so large. What do you think ?
    Am i right ?
    Or is this necessary to suppot OSPF areas concept ?
  • durga ch
    durga ch
    i was not awrae of your 1 metric requirement 😛. but that was why i did not suggest Hrirarchial as it was not too important in your case as you are not scaling too much.