Possible Issues with voice recognition

I am in third year electronic engineering and we have recently been given a semester long micro processing project. I am currently banging a few ideas around in my head and I'm wondering if I can get some guidance.

The first thought that came to my mind was something voice controlled/voice recognition. I think this is an under used technology and would like to gain more knowledge about it.

My second thought was a modification to handicapped access of doors. The push button system is good and allows for easier access but if you have ever watched a wheel chaired person use it you will notice how difficult it is to orient yourself to the door especially if you were holding something. I was thinking a simple voice controlled door using the "open" command could be very beneficial.

My question is about the possible problems that would occur since I do not have any experience dealing with wave recognition and analysis besides simple filters.

Would background noise be too much of an hindrance to complete this project?

What would other possible complications be, specifically with the audio side of the project?

Do you have any input to possible adaptations using voice recognition?

I'm very new to this forum and any help or input would be very appreciated, basically just to bounce ideas off of someone.

Replies

• ice111
    ice111
    Re: Possible Issues

Voice recognition is quite old, unreliable and not practical. It looks good or exciting in sci-fi movies but in reality it never proved on commercial scale, that's why we are still stuck with more than 100 keys with keyboard, and every day some new keys are added ๐Ÿ˜€

The major problem it will have is accent problem, "Open" word in voice by an India is different from British to Americans as well as age different too.

Background sound will also be an issue without doubt and accidental voice like open command will also trigger the the mechanism.