Performance in 12th and engineering below 60% - worried about career

Hi,
I'm in my final year of BE in Computer Science & Engineering & I'm confused as hell as to what I should be doing next. Following is my profile:

58% in 12th
58% till 6th sem

As my profile says, I'm not eligible for most of the companies on campus. On top of that, I have a gap of 3 years in my education between 10th & 12th. I kind of made the worst decisions in my life, which I still regret. But I seriously don't know what I should do next in this condition.
I was thinking of preparing for eLitmus & AmCat, but then again I'm not sure if I'll ever get a call from any company since I have a not so impressive academic profile.

So I thought of posting this question here. I am confused, depressed & helpless in a city like Bangalore. Every walk-in interview I prepare myself for always reminds me of this horrible fact that there's always someone better than me & that it is an uncertainty for me. I'm passionate about development & have developed a few things on my own, and I can prove myself to be an effective team player if I'm given the chance, but that chance itself seems so bleak to me. So I'm in dire need of some seriously helpful advice.

Thank you for your time.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# - welcome to CrazyEngineers. Thank you for describing your situation in detail.

You're trying to go the normal route, which is going to be difficult because everyone else's doing the same thing. You need to make a promise to yourself to get out of your current situation and do anything to be in the situation you deserve.

You can't change your past performance, but you certainly don't want to regret 3-4 years down the line. In the longer run, it does not matter how much you scored in 12th or in engineering. It does NOT matter whether you went to IIT / IIM or some unknown engineering college. What really matters is what you are doing 'right now'.