Normalization

All right techies of the world, answer me this.

Do you remember all the different types of normalization we learnt? 1NF, 2NF, 3NF, 4NF, 5NF (yes there is one), BCNF ... are there any more?

If there are, why do we need so many? Can someone honestly tell me that they have made an application which is truly past 3NF?

The debate is open sires ...

My $0.02 -

So far, I have worked on 4 online live applications -
1. a finance portal, portfolio management
2. a CMS, news feed, et al
3. 2 e-commerce portals

All of them are handling a decent amount of traffic, and in all the 4 applications, trying for more than 2NF resulted in nightmares. Effectively, we had to stop just short of 3NF.

What are the real life applications of higher forms of normalization then?

Replies

• mahul
    mahul
    well being a student i'm not really aware of the actual industrial design norms, but maybe this is something that again exposes the lack of practical knowledge that is overlooked in our education system.
  • Prasad Ajinkya
    Prasad Ajinkya
    Lets make it a little bit more interactive here .. what do you think would be the normalization used in the DB structures of this forum?
  • mahul
    mahul
    no idea kidakaka, i'm not a pro and it will have 2 be a blind guess from my part, maybe _k could throw some light?
  • jinx
    jinx
    hi,
    normalisation techniques as told by one of my professors seems to b a little outdated since now there are much advanced techniques available...
    also a friend working in Wipro informed that it is still used for mainframes . in wipro they use DB2 and that's where its currently used
  • shalini_goel14
    shalini_goel14
    *bump*

Nice discussion was stopped. Can anyone tell me how trying more than 2NF resulted in nightmares in those 4 projects ?
  • Prasad Ajinkya
    Prasad Ajinkya
    Shalini,