NEED HELP FOR MOBILIZING MY SPYBOT

Hi, i m working on a fully equipped spybot cum all terrain surveillance robo. But i am really facing some trouble in deciding the scheme to mobilize it. I want it to be all terrain by that i mean it can scale an incline of appreciable value(obviously its a prototype so i m not sying it will go up 45 degrees) and also climb stairs. I had earlier thought of using tough treads(tank treads) with two out stretched forks(also of treads) to climb the stairs which is roughly 6 to 7 inches straight rise. But now the problem is that i would be needing 5 motors per wheel(total 4 wheels) to produce the required torque to pull/push the entire body up(though its very light) and my budget is falling short.
I am not a mechanical student,so please help me with some ideas. How about using Y-shaped wheels,with chains around them. But would that work on sand and marble floor??? I need to be all terrain!!!!!!!! HELLLLLLLLLLLLPPP!!!!

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# , moving your post to #-Link-Snipped-# Section.
  • Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    Debasish716
    I want it to be all terrain by that i mean it can scale an incline of appreciable value(obviously its a prototype. I am not a mechanical student,so please help me with some ideas. How about using Y-shaped wheels,with chains around them. But would that work on sand and marble floor??? I need to be all terrain!!!!!!!! HELLLLLLLLLLLLPPP!!!!
    Have you gone through all the posts in this section? You can see videos of various robots climbing, traversing difficult terrain and such. Using tracks may not be a good idea for stair climbing. A cantilever kind of wheel support with the lever lifting the vehicle with the wheel locked may be better.
    Or avoid wheels altogether and make a spider bot.

If you have the time go through some of these links. You may find some thing useful or at least get some ideas. #-Link-Snipped-#
  • Debasish716
    Debasish716