Need guidance to choose a mba course

Hi,

I have more than 3 years of experience in software engineering, presently working with a software company in Bangalore.
I am planning to pursue my MBA from Annamalai Univeristy. I have got the following information from the Annamalai website about the courses.
M.B.A.(General)
M.B.A. E-Business

I have a few queries here:-
1. What is the scope E-Business in today's market condition?
2. Which of the above courses would suite me in my career growth?

In MBA General, we have 2 papers from Systems (Information Tech and Personal Productiivity tools) in 2nd year of MBA.
Since MBA E-business has got technical papers , I feel more interesting to do it. But people around me insists me to do MBA (General) with Systems papers in 2nd year.

Could you please advise me which one of the above would be better for me?

Regards,
Savitha

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Hello Savitha,

Welcome to CE. You'll have to answer couple of questions here -

1. Are you looking at full time course or part time?
    2. Could you give us overall view of the MBA in E-Business?
    3. Be extra careful about usefulness of MBA-General. Unless you have specific aims for MBA studies, you shouldn't go for MBA! What are your specific goals for which you wish to opt for MBA?

To answer your questions:

1. What is the scope E-Business in today's market condition?

Answer: Depends on many factors. By the time you get MBA in E-Business, the situation could be completely different from what it is today. Right now, as far as I know, there aren't many jobs in E-Business. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

2. Which of the above courses would suite me in my career growth?

Answer: MBA might help you get a new direction in your career. Usually, MBA from a reputed institute helps you get placed in companies that offer MBA-Specific roles. A software company may not be able to offer any new roles that require MBA.