need guidance on microcontrollers

Hello Guys,
I am a complete noob in this field but I got a lot fascinated as I came across it over the net. So basically to get started I wanted to design a microcontroller circuit which could turn LED lights on off via a computer(USB interface). As I googled around I got a lot of circuits but you see being not in this field I find it difficult to design my own circuits. btw Programming is not an issue. I can cope up with it..

So how should I go about?? Please I need your say on this..

Replies

• Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Welcome to CE blackpixel!

If you wish to use USB as the interface, I highly recommend you to check out the PIC18F4550 microcontroller. The PIC circuit itself is quite simple, however.. since its most likely that the PIC chip is empty, you'll need some additional tools to load the initial firmware.

We can help you develop the circuit, but you'll need to do some additional work such as purchasing the components and soldering them together.

The alternative is to get a PIC kit that is ready made, if you have the budget ๐Ÿ˜€
  • blackpixel0x17
    blackpixel0x17
    Well thanks a lot....

Yes I am ready to buy the tools required... just needed a green signal..

If you have any references, guides or books please post the link here.

btw not too much budget here... lets focus only on the essentials...
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    blackpixel0x17
    Hello Guys,
    I am a complete noob in this field but I got a lot fascinated as I came across it over the net. So basically to get started I wanted to design a microcontroller circuit which could turn LED lights on off via a computer(USB interface). As I googled around I got a lot of circuits but you see being not in this field I find it difficult to design my own circuits. btw Programming is not an issue. I can cope up with it..

So how should I go about?? Please I need your say on this..
    Welcome to Ce Blackpixel