Need a Same IP Address for Internet? How to, Advantages, Disadvantages - Explained

Friends,
Well, as a Web Developer I had to make sure that my servers (which are running in my home PC) are accessible outside of the system. For that, I usually give out my IP Address (Something like 122.XXX.XXX.XXX) to my friends and since forwarding Port 80 is insecure, I would do it at 8088 (PraveenTech Apache Server runs there [​IMG]). This way, it would be helpful to me, as I don't need to change the IP Address of my domain to point it to my home system, each time I connect and disconnect.

Lets see the advantages and disadvantages of it. Later we will see how to implement it.

Advantages
1. Your system will be having the same unique IP Address (122.XXX.XXX.XXX), so that accessing it from other places and bookmarking it will be easier.
2. If you are hosting something, you can remotely connect to your system and start it or stop it.
3. If you own a domain, you can point it to your home server or redirect it.

Disadvantages
1. Your IP Address doesn't change, so you have to adjust with the waiting times when you are a free downloader from File Sharing sites like Rapidshare, MegaUpload.
2. Since you have a permanent identity and some ports are open, your system is surely insecure! Make sure you have a good firewall!

Implementation: How to Set Up DHCP Reservations So You Never Have to Check a Local IP Address Again

[​IMG]

Checking your computer's IP address every time you need it can get tedious. Here's how to set up DHCP reservations on your router so that each computer in your house has the same IP address all the time.