Magnetic Energy Generator

Hello, i am a newbie. Im 14 and am taking GCSE Electronics and i am hoping to continue on and take A level Physics.
At school, we came across energy, how it can be generated and how it is stored , well, we learnt that coal fired power stations use the chemical energy in coal to superheat water to turn a turbine that turns an alternator to create electricity. I asked the teacher why you cant use magnets to turn the alternator, and they said "because that would be free energy, and there is no such thing".

I am confused, because in theory, it is entirely possible and i can't seem to find a flaw in my design (which i will edit onto this post).

Thank you for reading this (and please dont flame me 😭)

Replies

• Aashish Joshi
    Aashish Joshi
    If I understand you correctly, what you are referring to is the principle by which a motor works. See here for more details:

Electric Motor (URL)

Let me know if I misunderstood.
  • Ashok Katdare
    Ashok Katdare
    In conventional generators, electricity is produced by rotating a conductor in a magnetic field. Therefore, rotation of the conductor is an essential part of a generator. With the help of magnets a conductor cannot be rotated unless a torque is produced. However, in a MHD (MagnetoHydrodynamic Generator) electricity is produced with the help of magnets and a conducting alkaline gas.

Refer to the following link on Wikipedia - Mhd Generator
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Saint Silence
    At school, we came across energy, how it can be generated and how it is stored , well, we learnt that coal fired power stations use the chemical energy in coal to superheat water to turn a turbine that turns an alternator to create electricity. I asked the teacher why you cant use magnets to turn the alternator, and they said "because that would be free energy, and there is no such thing".