Magnetic circuits and transformer

I am an electrical engineering student. I studied about magnetic circuits and transformers recently in one of my departmental courses.

I want to find out if I can implement this knowledge practically. So can anybody suggest some interesting projects on magnetic circuits or transformers which can give me an opportunity to implement the concepts I studied?

Replies

• icehari
    icehari
    explain the concepts that you have studied first..
  • gohm
    gohm
    induction motor
    toroidal/tokamak machines
    magnetic bottle
    superconductors in transformers
  • ajnk
    ajnk
    icehari
    explain the concepts that you have studied first..
    here is a list of the concepts that i studied:

Magnetic Circuits :
    Ampere's circuital law, B-H curve, mutual inductance, dot convention, magnetically coupled circuits, hysteresis and eddy current losses,

Transformers :
    Construction, EMF equation, ratings, phasor diagram on no load and full load, equivalent circuit, regulation and efficiency calculations, open and short circuit tests, auto-transformers.
  • chotaprogramer
    chotaprogramer
    if you want to do transformers practically so should take a tarnsformer and see all of that parts and then take your book and read how they all r works.
    for magnetic ckt you should read rotar and stator part of moters
  • sauravgoswami
    sauravgoswami
    well you can also study rotating machines like genertors,even a small inductor will do
  • rammy_233
    rammy_233
    Hey.. you can take up the manufacture of a LT Current Transformer (LTCT of about 660V.... these are available upto 440kV) as a mini project... you might have not studied much about these Transformers in your class books... these are Instrument Transformers... Which are used in Sub stations mainly in Switchgear & Protection circuits... I will help you in this regaards... i.e calculations of core area, size & Turns of windings... IT IS VERY SIMPLE....