Laptop for engineering students : Windows 7 on i5?

Hello,
I am an engineering student and thinking of buying laptop for project work. I am thinking of i3 or i5. But i5 leads to very high costs. And heard that windows 7(32 bit) got some issues on i5. Also windows 8 is unstable and has few software issues. Please guide me and which are the laptop configurations best suited for engineering project work.

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    I think you don't have to worry about the processor. Windows 7 would run fine on i3 and i5 and I'd recommend going with what suits your budget. No need to spend extra for i5. However, everything needs on your needs. Answer these questions -
    1. What type of work will you do on your laptop: Apart from Internet & Programming?
    2. Do you wish to play video games on it?
    3. Do you wish to run graphics intensive software on your laptop viz. Autocad, CAD / CAM software etc.?
    In 99% of the cases, students typically use their laptops to browse Internet (facebook,gmail) and play games. Students from CS/IT background would use it for coding - and I'm sure an i3 is much more capable than what you need.
    Windows 7 OR Windows 8 - does not matter as long as you have all the software available. If you are buying a laptop with pre-installed operating system, chances are that you'll get Windows 8. All of the open source software (that you'd use for coding and programming) should run well on it.
  • rahul69
    rahul69
    patil.ashu01
    Hello,
    I am an engineering student and thinking of buying laptop for project work. I am thinking of i3 or i5. But i5 leads to very high costs. And heard that windows 7(32 bit) got some issues on i5. Also windows 8 is unstable and has few software issues. Please guide me and which are the laptop configurations best suited for engineering project work.
    Why not go for Linux! I am sure #-Link-Snipped-# can give you better opinion in this regard๐Ÿ˜€
  • Abhishek Rawal