Job offer delayed, too late to think of higher studies, what to do?

hi ppl,
i am in my final year of my BE ECE and hav got placed in an IT firm.
A few weeks back i got an info tht they may call only in the next Jan or Feb.
By the time i could think of any higher studies, all the entrances got over..๐Ÿ˜”
Im a purely technical person and i clearly know that i cant do an MBA.
I tried my hand on gate the last year, but did not take it so seriously. and also no plans of going to US as there r some ppl already suffering( and i do hav money constraints). What can i probably do now..๐Ÿ˜• ๐Ÿ˜’

I would be happy if somebody can really understand the situation.

thanking you,
Shyam

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Welcome to CE, Friend. There are lot of engineering graduates who got calls from their hiring companies that the joining will be delayed. At least, you have hope. I've heard that lot of engineering graduates in India are being told that they can look for another job.

There is no need to go for MBA. Stick to technical. I assume your interest lies in software development. How do you like the idea of going for a 3 month certification course [CCNA, JCP, Red Hat Certification etc.]? This should help you in two ways -

1. Constructive use of your time.
    2. Enhancing your skill-set; thus giving you an edge over other applicants for any job.

In the mean time, you can carry on your job search (I'd recommend this!). If possible, you may choose to join a startup on a part-time basis. The pay might be low, but the experience will be a huge benefit.

Stop worrying and start seeking solutions to your problems. That's the way to go. We are always available for any help you may need.
  • Mayur Pathak
    Mayur Pathak