JAVA or RUBY?

If you had to choose between Java or Ruby, which one would you choose?

And why?

Replies

• PraveenKumar Purushothaman
    PraveenKumar Purushothaman
    Ruby:
    1. Web 2.0 Compatible
    2. Runs without any additional configuration
    3. Better than Java
  • K!r@nS!ngu
    K!r@nS!ngu
    Since i don't know much about Ruby, I will choose the one and only "JAVA" 😁 .
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Dancer_Engineer
    If you had to choose between Java or Ruby, which one would you choose?
    And why?
    I'm not a programmer, but I did study Ruby long time ago just out of Interest. The language, when used with Rails framework offers a rock solid tool for rapid application development. There are several tutorials on the Internet which will make you familiar with Ruby programming language. Ruby is much younger and has picked up the 'best things' from several programming languages.

Java is still rock solid and has a strong community around it. I bet there are more Java resources on the Internet than Ruby. However, the choice of language would strictly be dependent on the kind of application you're aiming. If you want to learn a language out of interest - I'd recommend Ruby. It's fun πŸ˜€
  • K!r@nS!ngu
    K!r@nS!ngu
    Found this website useful for those who are in early learning stage of ruby like me....πŸ˜‰
    #-Link-Snipped-#
  • Reya
    Reya
    Ruby is simpler and faster than Java.You can run directly without compiling!

Wondering,what made you to compare a scripting language and a programming language!

@Praveen: No matter what language it is,if it is compared with Java,you always stand opp to Java, GeekyπŸ˜‰
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Praveen-Kumar
    3. Better than Java
    Okay, now that you said it - you should point out at least 3 areas where Ruby beats Java. β˜•
  • Dancer_Engineer
    Dancer_Engineer
    Ok.
    Thank you guys! πŸ˜€

Reya