How to know the VA rating of a transformer

Hello to all

I am an electrical engineer and in an interview I was asked to tell the MVA rating of a transformer of few KV , and nothing was given means neither the power factor and nor the current , so I want to ask you people is there any way to determine the MVA rating of the transformer from the KV or vice-versa.

Please tell me with an example if possible.

Thank you

Replies

• u_know_who
    u_know_who
    As far as i am concerned in XFR (transformer) both KV and MVA rating are mentioned. Both of them are essential because you can calculate rated current, rated impedence etc from this two value. So KV and MVA rating are independent variable. I don't know if there is practical function between them.

May be in practice there is some combination of this two. Which requires practical knowledge not mathematical issue.
  • Arp
    Arp
    not possible to tell the exact VA rating of the transformer given.
    but if given the Voltage then u can decide whether it is coming inthe distribution or transmission or which range. then u can give an approx estimation of the KVA rating. ok
  • piyushpandey
    piyushpandey
    Arp
    not possible to tell the exact VA rating of the transformer given.
    but if given the Voltage then u can decide whether it is coming inthe distribution or transmission or which range. then u can give an approx estimation of the KVA rating. ok
    hello arp

first of all thanks for your reply .

Actually I meant the same that how can you estimate the approximate value of the VA as ofcourse it is impossible to get the exact value of VA from the value of just of voltage and not the current.

So can you show this with an example, please.

Piyush Pandey
  • Arp
    Arp