How do I calculate the magnitude and phase angle using both cosine and sine rules?

Please help! I have spent hours trawling through books and the internet trying to answer this question. I am a first year BTEC student and haven't received any input on how to solve this problem. An electrical circuit is connected to an a.c supply voltage and draws a current from the supply.The circuit has four parallel branches. Each branch has its own current.

The current in branch one i1 has a magnitude of 20A and is in phase with the supply voltage hence it's angle is 0 radians

i2 has a magnitude of 5A ata a phase angle to the reference of 1 radian

i3 has a magnitude of 10A at a phase angle to the reference of 3.14/2 radians

i4 has a magnitude of 10A at a phase angle of 3.785 radians

1)Plot the vectors on a diagram

2)Calculate the magnitude and phase angle, to the reference, of the resultant supply current using both cosine and sine rules as appropriate.

Replies

• PraveenKumar Purushothaman
    PraveenKumar Purushothaman
    Re: How do I calculate the magnitude and phase angle using both cosine and sine rules

Could you please post the circuit diagram, as when I tried to draw, I could get some ambiguity...
  • venueee
    venueee
    Re: How do I calculate the magnitude and phase angle using both cosine and sine rules

hello first you convert the radians into degrees then your 50% problem will solved.
  • narayana murthy
    narayana murthy

luxfoa01
    Please help! I have spent hours trawling through books and the internet trying to answer this question. I am a first year BTEC student and haven't received any input on how to solve this problem. An electrical circuit is connected to an a.c supply voltage and draws a current from the supply.The circuit has four parallel branches. Each branch has its own current.

The current in branch one i1 has a magnitude of 20A and is in phase with the supply voltage hence it's angle is 0 radians