Help with a new final project idea, or improvement of my idea so far

Hi Crazy Engineers, i'm a Computer science student,and i need some advice on my final year project, i was thinking about doing a web based aplication community that posts projects, articles, received by email, build a forum like this one, anyway i was trying to do something that helps students make their projects, please give a feedback of what you guys think or give me a new idea!

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    The idea is nice, but I'm not sure it's an entirely new idea. Web based forums are already popular. I'd advice you to add couple of new aspects to your project like -

1. Let people register online and form online teams.
    2. Give every member/team a dedicated project space.
    3. Give them easy way to share code or resources. You'll have to figure this out based on the scope & limitations of your project.
    4. Give them a scheduler to track the project progress.
    5. Incorporate basic project management tools, task distribution tool etc. with email/SMS notifications.
    6. Create a pool where community members can park their project ideas etc.
    7. They may have a Page where they can showcase & share their progress with other members and also seek feedback.

I think it would be a feature rich final year project 😀
  • youngt
    youngt
    Great ideas The_Big_K, some of the ideas you mentioned i already had in mind and in paper like point 1 and 2, but the others are amazing, i will do some investigation on the matter and see what i can come out with!!

Another question, some of the functionality of the page can be easily done with an cms like the organization, logins, and other stuff, so what do you advise me, use an cms or start programming from root..