Help on Smart Machine

Hello,
I am a student from India i am planning to do a Smart CNC Turning Center
Such that it will automatically adjust itself the Cutting Parameter based on Spindle Speed and material chosen!
Does any one have an idea on how to do??

I have a plan to do based on young's modulus of the material

On silly question is does Youngs Modulus vary depending on size of material? I hope its definitely no
Hope it vary if defect is there

Also is there any formula to compute best Depth of Cut and Feed Rate based on Youngs Modulus of the Material???

Will this thing work??

Replies

• Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    jhbalaji
    Hello, I am a student from India i am planning to do a Smart CNC Turning Center
    On silly question is does Youngs Modulus vary depending on size of material?
    Also is there any formula to compute best Depth of Cut and Feed Rate based on Youngs Modulus of the Material???
    Young's Modulus is a property of the material. Not size dependent.
    You may be better off by putting up a look up table based on published data from various machining hand books instead of developing an algorithm based on theoretical values of moduli.

Here is something similar that may trigger some ideas:
    #-Link-Snipped-#

Bioramani
  • jhbalaji
    jhbalaji
    bioramani
    Young's Modulus is a property of the material. Not size dependent.
    You may be better off by putting up a look up table based on published data from various machining hand books instead of developing an algorithm based on theoretical values of moduli.

Here is something similar that may trigger some ideas:
    #-Link-Snipped-#

Bioramani
    Thanks for help!
    Please read my post completely!
  • ISHAN TOPRE
    ISHAN TOPRE
    No Jhbalaji, Young's modulus varies according to material and not dimensions. By the way I am also planning to do a project something about CNC for my final year. It is just "one of the idea" but not finalized yet.