Help on getting started with C++

We were given a very basic introduction to C programming.

Today we were set a task in labs to use Microsoft Visual Studio 2008 and use C++.

The question on the task was :

Test the following expressions, where a, b and c are all integers and a and b have been assigned the values 8 and 9, respectively. You need to explain in the report what the value of each of the following expressions is and if the value of a or b changes, you need to give their new value.
· c = b/a
· a = b
· a = b = 5
· c = ++a + b--

I'm a completely beginner so have ABSOLUTELY no idea where to start. Does anyone have any notes on the basic commands on C++, because I'm completely stuck. Please note I'm not looking for the answer, rather help so I may write the programme myself.

I think it should look something like the following please correct me if I'm wrong!

#include stdio.h

void main (void)

int a, b, c;

a = 8;
b = 9;
c = b/a;

printf (c=b/a);

Whilst on the topic, what does the printf command do, the scanf command?

Any and all help much appreciated!!

Replies

• MaRo
    MaRo
    Black_Rose
    · c = b/a
    · a = b
    · a = b = 5
    · c = ++a + b--
    a, b & c are integers..

a = 8, b = 9;

c = b/a;

c = 9 / 8 = 1.125

Since c is an integer, its floating point precision will be deducted, means int datatype doesn't take the digits after the decimal point.

If you want the floating point precision use another datatype for c like float or double.

& the flow goes as following:

a = b; // the value of b replaces the value of a, now a = 9;

a = b = 5; // now 5 replaces the values of a & b now both equal 5

c = ++a + b--;

++ means incrementing the value of the variable by 1
    -- means decrementing the value of the variable by 1

but their place in the next to the value differ the time the operation occur, if the they're on the left side the operation occur then do the instruction (line).