Help needed with engineering basics!

Hey guys.
I should have asked this WAY earlier, but as a selective few of you know, I am an aspiring electrical engineer. I'm not very knowledgeable yet, and that's one of the main reasons I joined the forum.

My question to the general public of CE is this:
Can anyone give me some pointers on how to start off in this vast electrical engineering world? The main things I'm interested in is anywhere from audio/video devices and small electronics such as speakers, amplifiers, and hand held devices; all the way up to computer technology and PCB design.

I don't want copied and pasted links from your Wikipedia search. I want what YOU know. Like I said, I am just starting out, so anything is greatly appreciated.

Replies

• Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    Electrical engineering is indeed vast. From what you've said, its most probably you're tending specifically towards "electronics", instead of things like power generation/transmission.

Having an interest in microcontrollers is a good start. It encompasses computer programming and electronics. You can program the "uC" to do execute many actions that also involve audio and video. You'll also be involved in PCB fabrication if you decide to finalize your circuit.

Making your own radio receiver is also a good approach. You can learn a lot of electronics from that, and the end result is worth it.

Thats it for now ๐Ÿ˜€ The Internet is a good source for knowledge, but I personally believe books are much better. Spend time browsing through the titles of the electrical engineering section in your local library (or your nearby uni if you are allowed to). It'll give you a picture of what to expect.
  • KINETIC_JOULES
    KINETIC_JOULES
    Thanks so much, ash! I'll take your advice to heart!
    I've been wanting to take a trip to the library lately anyway. I love to read, and most anything I read, I retain. If it interests me, I remember it.

Btw, did you know your almost to 1000 posts?