harnessing lightning power

hello crazy engineers,
i am currently in my third year of bachelors in electrical and electronics department. i ve been thinking very much about an idea of harnessing lightning energy. since then i ve been searching about possibilities of doing so. in my search i ve seen in many sites like people are saying that lightning energy cant be harnessed. but its a known fact that if the power of lightning is harnessed, then it would provide energy need for the whole of india. i have a lot of ideas regarding this concept.
firstly, this idea is so basic. we know that taller buildings around the world are installed with lightning conductors to protect the building from the attack. in such cities, such conductors which go deep into the ground to pass the lightning voltage to be grounded, we can also tap the energy by making such conductors pass to a common place, where the lightning can be harnessed in various ways. if lightning is believed to be of a giga volt, then having a series of resistors of high values, (using voltage division), we can divide the huge voltage and that voltage that is available for short time can be used as a booster energy or if possible it can be stored. i am sure that such large energy can be stored. anyways, i need suggestions about whether it is possible so? or how can it be done? or how can such voltage be used efficiently? thats my question number 1.