Fourier series

Hi everyone. I am studying fourier series.I have a question about this example.
[​IMG]

Please explain to me where does am come from? I dont understand the last part of the calculation where it becomes am Int(-pi-->pi)cos^2mxdx=piam

Replies

• Arnav Joshi
    Arnav Joshi
    Any integral of the form
    [​IMG] whenever m not equal to n and m,n are integers.

[​IMG] for all values of m,n where m,n are integers.

whereas [​IMG]

(If you notice there is a summation from n = 1 to infinity.)
    Thus in the summation whenever n doesn't equal m we get zero. And in only one case n equals m. In that case the integral becomes pi. And this integral is multiplied by a[sub]n[/sub] , but since n = m hence
    a[sub]n[/sub] = a[sub]m[/sub].

Note -
    [​IMG]

integrate both the cos terms in the integral you will get zero.

when m = n ,
    [​IMG]

= [​IMG]
  • Reya
    Reya
    Integration results become zero when m&n are non negative(positive) integers.
  • Aruwin
    Aruwin
    Thanks for the explanations. I got it now. Now I have another question here.
    [​IMG]
    And I don't get this part of the solution:
    [​IMG]
    Isn't bn supposed to be 2/pi ???
  • Reya
    Reya
    Bn is 2/pi only when n=1.

Value of bn changes when n changes.
  • Aruwin
    Aruwin
    Reya
    Bn is 2/pi only when n=1.

Value of bn changes when n changes.
    It a bit complicated at first.Now I get what you mean 😀
  • Arnav Joshi
    Arnav Joshi
    cos (n pi) = 1 when n is even and it is -1 when n is odd. Thus it is convenient to write cos (n pi) = (-1)[sup]n[/sup].
    Thus b[sub]n[/sub] equals 2/(nπ) when (n-1) is odd and 0 when (n - 1) is even.

Aruwin
    But even if n is not equals to 1, i got both n as the numerator and denominator so doesn't that make it equals to 1?And hence,times it with 2/pi I get Bn=2/pi
    There isn't an n in numerator see the equation of bn again.
  • Aruwin
    Aruwin
    Arnav Joshi