experimental setup for determining air flow.

Hi all,

i have been assigned, this project to experimentally determine the maximum air delivery (cubic meters/minute) of a 1400 mm sweep ceiling fan, of a particular make.

i do not have much of knowledge in this. all i know is that i have to use an anemometer for this. can anyone here guide me with the correct procedure, and also inform me what equipment and apparatus i would require for this ?

Replies

• Ritesh Patil
    Ritesh Patil
    Hey man, this could actually be a cool project. You first need to study how the ceiling fan delivery air. Ideally, a propeller fan would be much easier to study the delivery of. Because a ceiling fan is different from say a table fan, or an exhaust. A ceiling fan doesn't propel air as much as it stirs the air below it (i suppose). You still can channel the air it displaces and then measure it using the many methods available. I am not an expert on the subject, but I don't think quantifying a ceiling fan on the basis of air delivery in volume/unit time is the right way to study these type of fans.

Yet to do this correctly, you need to determine what kind of air delivery you want to study for your project. If you are looking for absolute air displacement, then you will need to make a shroud around the fan as suggested in the attachment. Making it as long as possible will help as it will yield a more or less consistent air flow in the radial direction. Then using your anemometer, taking velocity readings at a large number of positions near the outlet and average them out giving you the average velocity. This, multiplied by the area of the shroud will give you the air delivery in volume/ unit time.
    ceiling
    You may want to proceed your study with taking reading in different configurations like different lengths of shrouds, position of fan inside the shroud, etc.

All the best on your project.
  • MURTUZA ZAVERI
    MURTUZA ZAVERI
    Ritesh patil