Engineering Disciplines Are Just Labels - Agree Or Disagree?

Electrical, Mechanical, Chemical, Structural, Computer ... are all just labels that an engineer gets after graduating as an engineer. But in fact, an engineer is just an engineer capable of solving the problems through application of logic and technical skills. I graduated as an Electrical engineer but have been working 'like a' software/IT/CS/networking engineer for most of my professional life. I never faced any problem; because I always felt I'm *special* because I'm an engineer 😉

Your opinion, please?

Replies

• Anuj Aggarwal
    Anuj Aggarwal
    I agree with you but I think it is always easy for any electrical or mechanical engineering graduate to move towards IT since there are a no. of subjects related to IT ( for example C/C++) which are there in all other engineering disciples during their college. But if an IT guy starts learning about electrical machines( from Electrical Engineering) or Hydrolics( from MECHANICAL), I can assure you he will bang his head into the wall ( but exceptions are always there). So I think when it comes to migrating from Core fields such as Electrical to IT, it is quite easy but vive-versa is quite difficult. So according to me Engineering Disciples are there for some reason and are not just labels....
  • Anoop Kumar
    Anoop Kumar
    This is one way process that people can easily migrate from other trades to IT trade companies.
    IT companies are hiring much more than any other core field and most of them train to selected condidates for a year.And there are enough candidate are available for other core compnies to hire from their core trade.
    For example Infosys hire candidate and so restrict in training that they fire the condidate which fail its training exams.
    I can say that these people from other trade or not from very college are not going to work on core software R&d division.