Embedded programming

I would like to learn assembly language, or something similar which will help me in programming embedded devices. Since I am a complete novice to this, could anyone suggest a good book that introduces the subject "easily".

Also, I have a book on embedded programming with C. Which language would you recommend, C/C++ or Assembly? Also, time is not a factor. I want to master embedded programming, not just cram "widely used" syntax and be done with it. I need flexibility in whichever language i learn

Found a nice article on embedded.com, according to the author, most widely used language for embedded programming is C.

#-Link-Snipped-#

Replies

• durga ch
    durga ch
    Hi Maddie,

Embedded C is a good choice. I don't know about the better one between assembly as I don't know too much hands on on assembly. i am not sure if you already know about this,in case you would want to learn it in a defined way we have CDAC institutions in INDIA. They train you on Embedded systems.

C-DAC: Centre for Development of Advanced Computing, India
  • Aashish Joshi
    Aashish Joshi
    I didn't know CDAC conducted courses on embedded systems!! Thanks for the info

I am leaning towards C as well. Since I already have a little experience in C/C++ it would be a better choice I think.

[EDIT]
    Just checked CDAC's website, I am not eligible to take up the embedded system (diploma) course!! They need IT, Comp Science, Electronics,etc engineers only. Plus, it is offered only at their hyderabad centre!! ๐Ÿ˜”
  • debu
    debu