electric fan that will follow you

hello. I want to ask for help. I am an electronics engineering student and I want to create a electric fan that will turn on when a person will come into the range of the sensor and then the fan will follow the person in linear movement only. the movement of the fan will be restricted only in linear movement because it will only move in a straight rail. my problem is, how am i going to make the electric fan move back and forth?

Replies

• medeepak
    medeepak
    use rack and pinion mechanism
  • Harshad Italiya
    Harshad Italiya
    It Means your Fan will not be in fix position?
    or it get ON/OFF only when there is a person within the range of that Fan?
  • iAstro
    iAstro
    Hey Hii Nads,
    Nice Project Idea!;-)

As I think, You can easily make it ON/OFF when a user comes near it by simply using Light Dependent Resistor & The driver circuit for ON/OFF purpose. That would be easy.
    But, For making a FAN to follow you, you'll need an appropriate mechanism then. A mechanism quite similar to robotics.

By the way.. One question! How you want your fan to be moved. According to the user's direction or irrespective of the user's movement?
  • JamesSimon
    JamesSimon
    ^ yep that'll be a great project though annoying cause wonder a fan would follow you all round! lol.

seriously, the answer to your question is in robotics, sensory and optical robotics. try to search for it. the electrical part is easy cheese compared to those robotics freaks! lol. kiddin'

goodluck!
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    nads
    the fan will follow the person in linear movement only. the movement of the fan will be restricted only in linear movement because it will only move in a straight rail.
    You can try using a belt attached to a stepper motor and fan, and guide the fan along a bar (or rail) just like in inkjet printers. This would save weight as the motor is detached from the fan itself. One motor should be sufficient.