1. Home >
  2. Apps >
  3. Groups >

Disable Photo Recognition On Facebook

Question asked by Ankita Katdare in #Coffee Room on Jun 10, 2011
Ankita Katdare
Ankita Katdare · Jun 10, 2011
Rank A1 - PRO
Facebook recently launched the photo-recognition service on Facebook.
When you or a Facebook friend uploads a photo, Facebook uses facial-recognition software to match faces in that photo with previous photos on Facebook in which you've been tagged.
Facebook groups similar photos together and suggests names for tagging purposes. According to Facebook Blog:

"Now if you upload pictures from your cousin's wedding, we'll group together pictures of the bride and suggest her name. Instead of typing her name 64 times, all you'll need to do is click 'Save' to tag all of your cousin's pictures at once." That's great, unless one of those 64 photos are of you at the end of the evening, slumped in a chair with your tie in your drink.
The introduction of facial recognition on Facebook has many users rightfully uneasy. Worse, Facebook has enabled it by default.

Here's how to disable it:
1. Click on Account in the upper-right corner of your Facebook page, and from the pull-down menu choose Privacy Settings.

2. Find the small Customize settings link and click it.
3. On the next page, scroll down to the "Things others share" section, and click the Edit Settings button next to "Suggest photos of me to friends" header. You'll notice it's Enabled by default. Click on the button and select Disabled and then hit the Okay button to restore some of your privacy on Facebook.
That will do the trick. Posted in: #Coffee Room
ISHAN TOPRE
ISHAN TOPRE · Jun 11, 2011
Rank A2 - PRO
Cool info, especially, "How to disable" it info. I do not have to fear fb in any way. Thanks to Praveen, I have changed my fb settings. 😀

P.S: I never upload any photo of mine on principle to prevent any misuse.

You must log-in or sign-up to reply to this post.

Click to Log-In or Sign-Up