Difference between sensor and transducer

Hi CEans.......
I'm an instrumentation student and often confused with the difference between sensor and a transducer.
confused with many explanations i have entered into the conclusion that a transducer is a type of sensor which converts any physical quantity into electrical.Am i right?
someone please help me understand.
Also how does a transmitter differ from these?

Replies

• rahul69
    rahul69
    In my opinion, the obvious difference is what each does,
    A transducer converts one form of energy to another.
    A sensor detects the incoming quantity (be it signal, temprature or anything).
    A transmitter sends or broadcasts a quantity.
    These generic definitions can be applied to any quantity desired as per need.
  • yanivx
    yanivx
    rahul69
    In my opinion, the obvious difference is what each does,
    A transducer converts one form of energy to another.
    A sensor detects the incoming quantity (be it signal, temprature or anything).
    A transmitter sends or broadcasts a quantity.
    These generic definitions can be applied to any quantity desired as per need.
    hey Rahul you are almost there..... the definition of transducer is perfect but when you are talking about the sensors..... Transducer is a part of a sensor as in the case of pressure gauge the bourdon tube is the transducer that will convert pressure in to displacement. but the pressure gauge when connected with electrical cktary will be called as sensor.
  • madhu27
    madhu27
    Thanks for the reply....
    To my knowledge, transducer converts any form of energy into electrical one.If that is true, a bourdon tube can't be a transducer.So i may be wrong😨.
    If any form of energy is being converted into electrical one, what does it mean? a sensor or a transducer?😕
  • Jaigopal Soni
    Jaigopal Soni