Developer or Tester?

Hi,
I am a computer science student in final year . As now its time for preparing for the campus interviews and i also know it very well that i am really bad in coding and i heard from many people that good programmers always opt for Developing side and those are not ,opt for Testing side .So i just wanted to ask is Testing also considered as a good job? ๐Ÿ˜•

Replies

• Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    In my opinion, these are the rumors spread by those who are totally clueless about both careers. They hear from equally clueless people and keep spreading incorrect things. In India, there are great prospects in both the fields. Let me present an overview of both these careers in the context of Indian IT -

What you should know about Indian IT Companies: Indian IT is majorly services based. Which means, the big IT companies like Infosys, TCS, WIPRO get projects from their clients and they execute it. This 'outsourced' work consists of 'coding' and 'testing' as well. Both types of work are equally in demand in the industry.

Career In Software Development: Overall, this involves knowledge of programming languages like Java, C, C++, .Net or others depending upon the nature of the project you'll work on. Note that most of the times, the software system's architecture will be developed by the client and the 'coding' part will be left to the developers. If you intend to work on hard-core technical stuff, you should look for select product-based companies or startups that do all their system designing in-house. The 'so called good programmers' are actually doing all the non-brainy coding job where most of the things are directed by their clients.