Derivatives : All about Futures

Having covered the basics of stock markets and short selling, lets try to focus on something that is a bit more complex. Let’s move into the derivatives segment of the markets. What are derivatives? Let’s not confuse with the general dy/dx that we study in engineering. Derivatives are the entities that depend on some underlying entity for their value. Futures and Options are the most common derivatives in the stock market.

So what are futures? A futures contract is an agreement between a buyer and a seller to be executed at a future date at an already fixed price. So either the buyer or the seller will lose money depending on the ensuing market value of the underlying asset. Let’s try to understand with the help of an example.

Suppose I am a building contractor and I need 1000 switches three months later. So I can either, wait and directly go to the market to buy 1000 switches when I need them, or book them (or in financial parlance, get into a futures contract) at a predefined price say 10 Rs. per switch. If I decide to wait and go to the market when I need 1000 switches, there may be a risk of not finding so many switches for sale in the market. Also I shall need to purchase from different vendors at the price which I don’t know now. So there shall be a lot of uncertainty. While if I get into the futures contract now, I have fixed the price , so I know what I am going to shell out and also I have taken care of the risk of not having the supply when I need it. Thus, futures ensure that you shall get a commodity or a stock at a specific date in future at a pre-decided price , no matter what the market price is on the day of delivery of commodity or stock.

One can buy a futures contract of a stock (generally there is a fixed lot of shares below which you cannot buy a futures contract), an index (like sensex, nifty , midcap index etc.) in addition to the commodity futures.