circuit parameters

I am studying recently about the different circuit parameters like Z-parameters, Y parameters, H parameters. But I can't make out how the two port circuits are being made.

as for example, in case for h parameters why the input is taken as open circuit and why the output as short circuit????

which parameters can be applied to which type of circuits??

what is the logic used for making the Y-parameter two port circuit, or Z parameter two port circuit or h- parameter two port circuits???

Replies

• sayandev
    sayandev
    Getting offline now due to thunder outside.
  • d_vipul
    d_vipul
    Hey Sayandev,

All these parameters are only for simplification of all big circuits(e.g.: ladder circuits,FLIP FLOP Circuits,etc.,)

If you know the main formula is:
    V1= a1I2+ a2V2
    I1 = a3I2+ a4V2

Only the thing is answer is find out using different parameters.
    Instead of go on measuring all the circuit parameters,their resistances,inductances ans capacitances, This method is very useful.

In each circuit you are provided with only Input terminal and Output terminals.
    So for calculation of parameters, Instead of differentiation of circuit this method is used.
    All parameters you can apply to each and every circuit.
    Only the difference in accuracy this is actually in Practical.
    You will not get much difference in theory but when you will go for practical you will get the actual difference.

Hope this will help you.

Regards,
    VIPUL
  • sayandev
    sayandev
    suppose I am given a circuit. now how will I understand that which parameter it obeys?? is it Y parameter or Z parameter or h parameter???
  • shreyasm89
    shreyasm89
    A given circuit does not obey any parameters. Remember these are parameters..not laws that they obey a specific relation between the voltage & current. These parameters are the various values of the circuit input resistance, output impedance, voltage gain & current gain.