Chemical reaction of dry lantana camara leaves powder with diesel

hello everyone i am a student and im doing a project on bio fuel ..... my idea is to use a lantana camara a type of plant whose leaves are dried in sunlight and powdered and mixed with diesel. and allow it to chemically react with the diesel ...... and then filter the powder then use dat diesel solution as a substitute to normal diesel in an engine.......
i hav not much idea about chemistry my question is will it really change the chemical properties of diesel by mixing dry powder for some days and filtering it will dat new solution hav any change in its properties............. and if it will............. hw many days i may have to keeep dry powder within diesel for optimum chemical reaction

Replies

• barath rajamani
    barath rajamani
    it is like normal petrol and octane rich petrol.. you are adding additives in one or other way.. as long as it is combustible it will provide some minor efforts to the engine output..
  • gdchethan
    gdchethan
    Thank you for your valuable reply sir........
    I would like to know more about chemical reaction occurring......
  • Ramani Aswath
    Ramani Aswath
    There are many of these plants in my garden. The leaves are aromatic and have an essential oil.
    The chemical constituents are:
    quote:Six compounds were isolated from leaves of Lantana camara. On the basis of chemical and spectral (UV, IR, EI-MS, 1HNMR 13CNMR) analysis, they were identified as oleanonic acid (I), lantadene A (II), lantadene B (III), lantanilic acid (IV), icterogenin (V) and 4',5-dihydroxy-3,7-dimethoxyflavone-4'-O-beta-D-glucopyranoside (VI). VI is a new compound named camaroside.
    #-Link-Snipped-#
    Endquote

If you sundry the leaves you are bound to lose some of this. Some may also get oxidised. Better dry in the shade. You may use a solar heated warm air to accelerate the drying.