Aquarium Engineering

Hello all!

Found this site via Xenforo and a conversation with Kaustubh over there

I searched this site for "aquarium" and got zero hits. Also not much for acrylic and/or solvent welding, so now there will be one for both!

I'm an Electrical Engineer by education and employment, and I got my PE a few years ago, but my passion outside of that is building aquariums and filtration systems out of acrylic.

I got into the saltwater reef keeping hobby a few years back, but have been in the (freshwater) aquarium hobby since I was a teenager. That means 25 years. Anyways, I got into acrylic fabrication through my Dad, also an EE, but he was doing it for his antique business - building display cases and product holders. We built a filtration system (called an Algae Scrubber) for use on one of my tanks and I liked it so much, I wanted to start building them.

This morphed into me learning as much as I could about acrylic fabrication. My Dad did not make water vessels, so I researched for while, then built a 4' x 8' router table and started building sumps and coral grow-out tanks (called Frag Tanks) for local club members.

Not to get too detailed into the intricacies of acrylic fabrication, but there are ways to do it and ways to do it correctly. I learn the latter and let me tell you, you would be amazed at the stunning shortcuts that the "big" aquarium makers take. For me, as an Engineer, I can't accept manufacturing and selling a low grade product.

There is a lot of engineering thought that goes into building aquariums, more so when it comes to a sump-based filtration system. Things like flow rates through a notched overflow vs a weir, standpipe capacity for drainage to the sump, taking into account draw-down water volume on power outage (worst case scenarios)...I find myself engineering a design for everyone who comes to me saying "can you build this for me"