Application to power on/off light automatically

Hi ,

I am new to this forums , so HI to all . I am a software developer and just started my journey in electronics side . [​IMG] I had this particular idea which I want to do for my project .

IDEA : Problem statement : In my college every room has fans and light which is powered with normal switches. People when leaving the class don't switch off the fans and lights when leaving the classroom

Solution : I wanted to develop a software which will recognize when the classroom is empty and will switch off the lights as soon as no one is there .

It will have three components :

1. Sensor : This will detect that there are no people in the room and send a signal to the system

2. Software system : Which is responsible for taking in INPUT from the sensor do the processing and send either signal ON/OFF command in some form to the electrical main

3. Main Circuit : This circuit should understand the software command and convert it to signal of some form which makes circuit switch off and switch on

MY PROBLEM :

I am not able to figure out two things .

1. What circuit should I use which can understand a software command and convert to signal ?

2. How can this circuit switch off the power?

I will be greatfull , If somebody can guide if not give proper solution [​IMG]

Replies

• Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    Use an IR or UV sensor route the op of the sensor to the comparator

In the room the sensor must sense the human wave that may be temperature or wavelength

Next the op must run a relay a program must route the control of this and what action has to be triggered
  • adikai
    adikai
    thanks a lot for replying on such short time . I have two questions

1. is it possible to make IR or UV sensore manually ??
    2. How do you program a relay ?
  • Jeffrey Arulraj
    Jeffrey Arulraj
    Programming is not my area of expertise