About Mobile Tower Capicity...

I'm a communications engineering student and wish to know a bit about mobile tower capacity. Can someone tell me how many calls are handled by a mobile tower at a time, simultaneously?

Replies

• crook
    crook
    It seems that our forum is struck with low activity virus 😔. Such questions should not remain unanswered for long time. Telecommunication engineers, where are you?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    crook
    It seems that our forum is struck with low activity virus 😔. Such questions should not remain unanswered for long time. Telecommunication engineers, where are you?
    Yep. Surprizing! I'm 100% sure that we have at least 50 telecom engineers.

We need more activity on forums for the people to keep coming 😉

-The Big K-
  • integratdbrains
    integratdbrains
    A mobile tower capacity depends on the microwaves for a 0.8m the distance covered is 1km. number of calls depends on the free bandwidth available at a given point of time. I think experienced persons will be able to elaborate more on this.
  • Nickhouse
    Nickhouse
    It depends if the R/Ts are fitted with a masthead amp.
  • just2rock
    just2rock
    What I believe is this, A typical MSC can handle 5000 simultaneous calls,and aound 2 lakh subscriber.
    The QUESTION asked is in a bit wrong way?

It should be a:::::::::::
    Mobile N/w system can carry how many calls at a perticular REAL TIME?
  • sniper
    sniper
    he has asked abt the tower not the MSC buddy !
    How many suscribers can be accomodate by a single BDS in real time ?
    i guess this would be da question !
    Please Reply
  • Ashraf HZ
    Ashraf HZ
    I read somewhere that a single typical Base Transciever Station can hold up to 30 channels. So if all are used for voice calls, then the BTS can hold 30 simultaneous calls. Of course, in very densely populated areas, you'd have more BTS packed in the area 😉