5+ Years PHP Experience. How do I advance in my career?

I have been working in PHP mainly magento for last 5+ years. I want to move futher in career. what should i do? what new skill i can learn? i want some relieving job now, can move to management? can i become technical consultant? what is your suggestion?

Replies

• Manik Bhardwaj
    Manik Bhardwaj
    I have been working in PHP mainly magento for last 5+ years. I want to move futher in career. what should i do? what new skill i can learn? i want some relieving job now, can move to management? can i become technical consultant? what is your suggestion?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    #-Link-Snipped-# - You haven't told us what your career aspirations are. What is it that you want to achieve in your career so that we could offer suggestions to you. You are skilled in PHP and you should upgrade your skills by learning new frameworks and applications; expanding beyond Magento. You might want to search for a new role - either in management or in the technical domain at higher pay. It all boils down to your career aspirations.

'Relieving Job' is something that can't be guaranteed. You'll probably want to join a company that's got large number of people and the average project size is about 100+ people. But again; work pressures will always be there.

I'm not sure what you mean by technical consultant. Are you planning to freelance or assume the role of technical consultant in your current organisation?
  • Manik Bhardwaj
    Manik Bhardwaj
    Thanks for quick reply.
    I am looking myself at role in technical domain at higher pay. i just want some direction to what should i do beyond PHP, so that my skill set improves which ultimately helps me improving my Salary package and also position in organization.

I am assuming the role of technical consultant in current organisation or similar organisations.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare