2T oil for engines and carbon content

Okay, I'm a newbie when it comes to chemicals. But I want to know about this!

How do I select 2T oil for my 2 stroke engine motorcycle? What's it with the carbon content [I'm concerned because the local mechanic probably knows a lot more than I do].

Can anyone enlighten me about 2T oils?

Replies

• gohm
    gohm
    Back in my vintage scooter days I used 2T. The important thing is to meet api/iso/jaso requirements for your engine. I actually prefered petroleum 2T oil because it is beng combusted in the 2 cycle process which eliminates several of the benfits of synthetic oil. A good quality brand without using overpriced bike/scooter oil. I also have not seen evidence that syth is any more/less "green" than petroleum 2T oil in both the manufacture process & emissions in general. HOWEVER, they now have ester based 2T oil on the market so I would use that as that does reduce emmissions & is biodegradable! Motul, Maxxima & Estrol all amke a ester based oil. Ensuring proper mixture ration is important too. Does your bike have a metering device or do you pre-mix? checking flow rate of a metering device occassionaly is important.
    The_Big_K
    Okay, I'm a newbie when it comes to chemicals. But I want to know about this!

How do I select 2T oil for my 2 stroke engine motorcycle? What's it with the carbon content [I'm concerned because the local mechanic probably knows a lot more than I do].

Can anyone enlighten me about 2T oils?
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    Thank you for your post, gohm. Well my motorcycle doesn't have a metering device.

Could you please talk about importance of 2T oils and where exactly it goes inside the engine? 😀

I'm curious!
  • chrissy_7
    chrissy_7