Why do we only have rectangular images on computers?

Have you noticed?

The question popped up in my mind while editing a picture for our newly launched blog VoiCE.

The images invariably are rectangular (the boundaries, I mean). I've been thinking about it and wondering why can't we have images of any shape? It'd save LOT of time for Web Admins like I who have to edit images before they are posted on the website.

Probably, it has to do something with the pixels. I'm not a computer engineer, so I need few explanations for this.

Also, how can we create images of any shape?

Replies

• RajdeepCE
    RajdeepCE
    The_Big_K
    why cant we have images of any shape?
    As per my thought the reason behind this is our eyes. Our eyes have viewing window of rectangle size (about 4:3), thats why almost every pictures and videos are recorded in this format. So all the image formats are built according to this ratio.
    Also, how can we create images of any shape?
    I am also trying to make images of any shape but I dont know how to make it.
  • Kaustubh Katdare
    Kaustubh Katdare
    To the best of my knowledge, you can't create round images. It's more of a technical reason, I suppose.
  • shalini_goel14
    shalini_goel14
    Very good idea popped up but they have squared images also πŸ˜‰

Well I guess the reason is images stored in computers are digital images consisting of rows and columns of pixels. Can anyone tell me how many rows and columns a specific oval or circle or any other shape(other than rectangular and square) has? If we can get the answer of my this question, I guess in future we can save digital images in ovals or circular or any shape other than rectangular and squared.

PS: Feel free to correct me if wrong.
  • Corpse-Thrust
    Corpse-Thrust
    From what I think, having square images just saves us from storing more information about the image. I could be wrong though.